In 1919, the California Legislature created a single department responsible for protecting and promoting agriculture. The California Department of Food and Agriculture is now organized into five divisions. The department operates at more than 100 locations throughout the state. These divisions provide valuable services to producers, merchants and the public. Many of the functions are conducted in partnership with local county offices of the agricultural commissioners and sealers.